2018 National and State NGAUS Award Nominations

National NGAUS Awards

The National Guard Association of the United States Awards Program is designed to recognize individuals and organizations who, by superior performance, acts of heroism or meritorious service, make a contribution to the goals of the National Guard Association of the United States, to the purpose and effectiveness of the broader National Guard or to the stability and security of the United States of America. Note: All Guard officer nominations must be a member of NGAUS.

The roots of the Awards Program go back to 1936 with the presentation of the first Pershing Plaque. In 1950, the Distinguished Service Medal was adopted. Since the Program’s inception, nine more individual awards have been established: The Harry S. Truman Award, the Association’s highest award; the Montgomery Medal; the Meritorious Service Award; the Valley Forge Cross for Heroism; the Charles Dick Medal of Merit; the Patrick Henry Award, the Garde Nationale Trophy and the Theodore Roosevelt Leadership Award for Company Grade Officers. The Eagle Rising Award for Warrant Officers is the newest addition.

The deadline for the receipt of nominations for all 2018 NGAUS Individual Awards is May 15, 2018.

For further details: 2018 NGAUS Awards Information

State of New Mexico NGAUS Awards

LTG (Ret) Ed Baca Outstanding Company Grade Officer of the Year Award: 2018 Ed Baca Award Letter

MG (Ret) Tom Taylor Outstanding Second Lieutenant of the Year Award: 2018 Tom Taylor Award Letter

The deadline for the receipt of nominations for all 2018 State of New Mexico NGAUS Awards is April 9, 2018: NM NGAUS Scholarship Nomination 2018

2018 NGAUS Scholarships

01 February 2018

The NMNG Scholarship Program provides limited financial assistance to officers and officer dependents who demonstrate outstanding academic potential and leadership capabilities. Awards are based on merit and are unrelated to financial need.

Scholarship Eligibility: All NMNG Active and Life Members (who are current on their dues) as well as their dependents, are eligible to apply for Association Scholarships. Scholarship funds may on1y be used to offset costs of tuition, books, academic fees, and living expenses at accredited post-secondary educational institutions. Applicant must state whether the scholarship is for tuition or for supporting expenses. Scholarships are paid directly to the institution and any funds remaining after one year from date of payment will be returned to the Association.

Scholarships are non-renewable. If you are awarded a scholarship, you cannot receive that same scholarship the next year, but you are encouraged to apply for any of the other scholarships you qualify for the following year. If applicants do not meet ALL requirements for the scholarship they applied for, their packet may not be considered. This includes quantity, quality, and content of the essay. In short, please show that you do meet the requirements, by providing all documents before the deadline (1 April 2018), and write a quality essay with at least as many words as necessary, not up to that many words.

The seven scholarships are: 1. Academic, 2. Presidential (x2), 3. Leadership (x2), 4. Master’s (COL Montoya) 5. Ruben Griego Scholarship. Your application will be considered for all scholarships for which you are eligible. The number of scholarships in each description is a guide for use by the board which will choose recipients. Total Scholarship awards for the entire year are set by the NGAUS board. Individual awards vary from $500 to $1000.

Electronically Send packet to all: jessica.m.sedillo.mil@mail.mil and michael.gutierrez.16@us.af.mil

NGAUS Officer’s Association Scholarships Letter 2018

NGAUS Scholarship Application 2018